A twinning is the meeting between two municipalities that intend to associate to confront their problems and to develop between them closer and closer friendships.

Montpellier – FRANCE signed on June 14, 2003.

First twinning of the 21st century
Fez, city of a thousand and one nights, on Wadi Fez, tributary of Sébou, and is the oldest of the imperial cities of Morocco. The urban commune of Fez has about one million inhabitants. A spiritual and cultural capital of Morocco, with a universal heritage, Fez is crowned by its prestigious history, borrowed from the Andalusian influence present in music, cuisine, art of living and architecture … Fez is a religious center, tourist and university. Like Montpellier, Fes is a millenary city that was founded in 789 by Moulay Idriss I. Its name, meaning “pickaxe”, illustrates the legend according to which one would have found the object at the site of the first foundations.

The life of the twinning
Millennia-old cities, famous for the influence of their two universities, cities rich in a prestigious historical and cultural heritage, cities of science and knowledge, cities of memory but also open to the 21st century, Fez and Montpellier wish to develop exchanges to various levels: culture, economy, education, youth, health, heritage rehabilitation, transportation …

The visit, in March 2005, of the delegation led by the mayor of the urban commune of Fes was the occasion, during working meetings, to address issues common to both municipalities and to share their experiences and knowledge. -faire: archiving system, transport and urban travel, culture, rehabilitation of the historic center, water treatment, education, health … It is during this visit that the plate of Fez, installed in the gardens of the House of international relations, has been officially unveiled.

Strasbourg – FRANCE | signed in 1998.

Symbol of the Arab-Andalusian civilization, both classified as World Heritage by Unesco, Fez and Strasbourg have many points in common. In addition to their historical character and their architectural richness, the two cities enjoy an undisputed reputation in the cultural and academic field. The influence of its famous Quaraouyine University has made Fez, for centuries, one of the main intellectual centers of the Arab world. Fès, a humanist and progressive center par excellence, has preserved, like the Alsatian capital, the coexistence of different religions in mutual respect and tolerance. Since 1998, Strasbourg and Fez have embarked on the path of cooperation. For Strasbourg, this is the first partnership of this magnitude with a city on the southern bank of the Mediterranean. These new links are based on the richness of the exchanges and the multiplicity of actions in fields as varied as the municipal management, crafts of art, tourism, environment, youth and culture …

Florence – ITALY signed on September 07, 1961.

Florence (Italian Firenze) is a city in Italy, capital of the Tuscany region and provincial capital (417 386 inhabitants, the Florentines). Located at the foot of the northern Apennines, it is crossed by the river Arno.

Cradle of the Renaissance in Italy, capital of the Kingdom of Italy between 1865 and 1870, a World Heritage Site by UNESCO, Florence has a great artistic wealth (churches, museums, palaces) that attracts millions of tourists every year of the whole world.

Capital of Tuscany, the powerful city of the Medici can not be tamed at first glance. The artistic treasures of the Renaissance are hidden behind the austere barrier of its fortified palaces or churches, where the bright light of Italy plays.

Kairouane – TUNISIA signed on October 22, 1965

Thirteen centuries have passed since Okba Ibn Nafaa founded Kairouan (670 AD), the first Islamic city in the Maghreb.

It soon became the starting point for Muslim raids to conquer the Maghreb (North Africa) and extend the teachings of Islam and Arab civilization among its peoples.

From the 9th to the 13th century (the golden age of Arab Islamic civilization) Kairouan was the center of one of the most brilliant civilizations of the Middle Ages and remained to this day an important spiritual center for Muslims.

Al Quds (Jerusalem) – PALESTINE | signed on May 07, 1982

Al-quds (Jerusalem or Salem, also called Hierosolyme or Solyme in Old French, ירושלים Yerushaláyim in Hebrew [official Israeli name], القدس al Quds for Muslim Arabic or اورشليم Ûrshalîm for Christian Arabic) is a city in the Middle East that holds a prominent place in Jewish, Christian and Muslim religions, and in Israeli national sentiment. The State of Israel proclaimed unified Jerusalem as its “eternal capital”. This designation is not recognized by the international community.

Saint Louis – SENEGAL signed on December 16, 1979

Saint-Louis, Ndar in the Wolof language, is one of the largest cities in Senegal and historically one of the most important, as evidenced by its inscription on the UNESCO World Heritage List. It is often called “Saint-Louis-du-Senegal”.

Krakow – POLAND | signed June 28, 1985

Krakow (Polish: Kraków, to pronounce “Cracouf”) is one of the oldest and most important cities in Poland, whose architectural heritage is very well preserved. Located 300 km south of Warsaw, Krakow is the capital of the Lesser Poland Voivodeship (in Polish: województwo małopolskie) since 1999. Previously, it was the capital of the Krakow Voivodeship since the 14th century. The historic city lies on the Vistula River at the foot of Wawel Hill.

With 745,000 inhabitants, it is the third largest city in Poland but is the cultural and scientific center of the country. In fact, Krakow was the capital of Poland before Warsaw and is still considered the true center of the country with its traditions and past more than 1000 years old. It is the headquarters of the Jagiellonian University, the second oldest university in Central Europe.

Bobo-Dioulasso – BURKINA FASSO | signed on May 07, 1982

Administrative and military post since 1897, the current city of Bobo-Dioulasso has had a long journey. Indeed, the city of Bobo-Dioulasso originated and developed from a small village called “Kibidoué” founded by farmers Bobo from Mandé around 1050.

These Bobo farmers, after settling under the “Kibi” which means tree in Bobo, decided to baptize their village “Kibidoué”. Subsequently, Kibidoué will give “Sya”, a bigger village with the gradual arrival of Dioula traders from the Kingdom of Kong and other migrants from the south.

The legend devotes several versions to this name of Sya and one of the versions says that Sya was the name of a young saleswoman of dolo in Kibidoué, known for his generosity.

Suwon – REPUBLIC OF KOREA – | signed on February 21, 2003

Suwon (Suwon-si) is the capital and the largest city of Gyeonggi Province in South Korea. Suwon is located about 30 km south of Seoul, on the railway line named Gyeongbu. It can also be reached in less than an hour from central Seoul via subway line 1. Some call it the Korean football city, because of the Suwon Samsung Bluewings club, which is the one with the most fans in South Korea. It counts in the census of 2005 1 105 953 inhabitants.

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.